Soup, sun and solace

photo (7)As I write this there is little sun to be found as the rain pours and the skies are grey again but there is solace to be found in having a morning to bake, write and plan.

I managed a few garden tasks this week – pruning the Cornus and attending to the front garden. It only has a small border and sometimes gets neglected but a new spring resolution is to treat this as border to attract wildlife as well. (I find March a much better month for making changes in life, with a feeling of hope in the air maybe there’s a better chance change will stick).

I’ve also resolved to try to cut my garden centre habit and make much better use of re-cycling materials for container gardening, growing flowers from seed – I may even arrange a Spring Plant Swap at my children’s school (I’ve only just thought of that – amazing what ideas pop into your head when you give yourself some head space).

The most exciting news is that I may be getting involved in a local community garden project. More of this next week hopefully – anyway it’s very cool and has given me a spring in my step despite the clouds (no gardener can begrudge a bit of rain, it’s the deluges that we don’t like).

Finally – the photo. Yes there was sun. I’m glad I took photographic evidence of a short pause for breath. After all – sitting back to enjoy the garden is solace indeed.

Leave a Reply

The "Wildlife Garden" Balcony

Creating a mini "wildlife habitat" on a tiny balcony in Hulme, inner-city Manchester UK

Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

art and practice

Gardening At The Edge

My life with weeds, rain and yellow clay

Greener mums

Looking after yourself, your family and the environment that little bit better

A year of reading the world

196 countries, countless stories...

SowandHoe

Gardening in the UK by Gardeners on Facebook.

Ripe Red Berries

Life lived. Beautifully. Simply. And on a budget.

Gardening blog | The Guardian

Celebrating spaces that are pleasing to the eye and edify the soul

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

